K-pop fans are facing another case of the seven-year curse as Brave Girls announced that they are parting ways after seven years together.

The news was confirmed by Brave Entertainment, stating that the contracts for four of their members: Minyoung, Yujeong, Eunji and Yuna have expired on 16 February.

“We sincerely thank Minyoung, Yujeong, Eunji, and Yuna, who have been passionately active as Brave Girls for the past seven years, and would like to give them a generous applause. We will always support the new activities of the members,” the agency added.

As a way to bid their farewell, the group released their new song, “Goodbye”.

Brave Girls debuted in 2011 before they were reorganised to feature the four aforementioned members. Although they went through a long period of meagre success, their song “Rollin'”, released in 2017 suddenly found new success in 2021 when a compilation video of Brave Girls performing it for the South Korean military went viral that year.

The seven-year curse is the term coined by K-pop fans, referring to the seventh year in which a group would disband or have a member leave. Among other groups that have disbanded after their seven-year contracts expired include 2NE1 and 4Minute.

330860193 711924450409263 1331894255534489291 n
Their new song, ‘Goodbye’ is so apt

(Photo Source: Brave Girls IG)