Celebrating its 10th year anniversary, one of the most prestigious and longest-running short film competitions, the BMW Shorties has revealed their 12 finalists this year.

Deviating from the usual 10 finalists selected every year, the 12 finalists have been selected due to the overwhelming response of the submissions – a total of 115 short films – the highest number of entries for the first time in the history of the competition.

“Over the years, the BMW Shorties programme has become a solid platform for young aspiring film talents in Malaysia to showcase their passion for this art form and to get a career start in the industry here,” said Sashi Ambi, Head of Corporate Communications of BMW Group Malaysia.

“This year, our theme ‘Journey’ does not only celebrate our decade-long milestone, but also reflects the success this initiative continues to enjoy,” he added.

The judges for this year’s competition features a line-up of Malaysia’s top filmmaking experts such as commercial filmmaker Lina Tan; award-winning director Liew Seng Tat, esteemed screenwriter Nadira Ilana, Thai’s renowned film and sound editor Lee Chatametikool as well as Singapore film producer Yuni Hadi who is also an author and curator specialising in the management of film and media projects.

One of the 12 finalists will stand a chance to win the grand prize award of a RM 75,000 production grant alongside promising prospects in the filmmaking industry.

Below are the finalists for BMW Shorties 2016

“Aman Nak Besar” by Affendi Azizan
“Hawa” by Tan Ce Ding
“Wednesday” (休息日) by Lee Kah Giap
“The Bosom” by Pow Lai Xiang
“Terminal” by Caston J
“Once See Fatt Cai” (一見發財) by Chan Kean Wah
“1304KM: Girl from Sumatra” by Lim Han Loong
“Terus” by Sherwynn Victor
“Revival” by Tham Wai Fook
“Prisoner” (囚) by Dexter Lo
“A Short Film without a Title” by Koo Shu Xuan
“Roundabout” by Liew Yew Yin

The BMW Shorties 2016 nominees for other categories

Best Director
Tham Wai Fook for “Revivial”
Chan Kean Wah for “Once See Fatt Cai” (一見發財)
Affendi Azizan for “Aman Nak Besar”
Sherwynn Victor for “Terus”
Tan Ce Ding for “Hawa”

Best Cinematography
“Wednesday” (休息日) by Lee Kah Giap
“Hawa” by Tan Teck Zee
“Aman Nak Besar” by Iswandi Salim
“A Short Film Without a Title” by Damien Goh Kwee Yew
“Terus” by Jeffery Ng Jun Guan

Best Screenplay
“Terus” by Sherwynn Victor, Derek Lim, & Daniyal Kadir
“Aman Nak Besar” by Affendi Azizan
“Once See Fatt Cai” (一見發財) by Chan Kean Wah
“1304KM: Girl from Sumatra” by Lim Han Loong
“Revival” by Tham Wai Fook
“Terminal” by Caston J
“Hawa” by Tan Ce Ding & Andy Darrel Gomes

Best Production Design
“Revival” by Teh Kah Wee
“Hawa” by Jess Ooi
“Marathon” by We Jun
“Selam” by Bani
“Terus” by Aiman Hamzah

Best Sound Design
“Terus” by Tang Wai Kent & Sherwynn Victor
“The Bosom” by Jaster Fong
“Terminal” by Caston J
“Marathon” by Sebastian Ng & We Jun
“Prisoner” (囚) by San
“Hawa” by Azrin Mohamad Noor

Best Editing
“Once See Fatt Cai” (一見發財) by Chan Kean Wah
“Hawa” by Tan Ce Ding
“Prisoner” (囚) by Kenneth Tan
“Terus” by Sherwynn Victor
“Aman Nak Besar” by Affendi Azizan

Best Actor 
Kenny Gan in “Roundabout”
Jonathan Lee, Jon Art, & Zac in “Once See Fatt Cai” (一見發財)
Vincent Wong in “Hawa”
Yap Chin Fong in “Terminal”
Azman Hassan in “Terus”

Best Actress
Susan Lankester in “Marathon”
Lim Soek Yuen in “Act 1: Journey to Guang”
Mia Sabrina Mahadir in “1304KM: Girl from Sumatra”
Syarafina Abdullah in “Aman Nak Besar”
Hawa Khadeeja in “Hawa”
Sukania Venugopal in “Terminal”

The 12 finalists’ short films are up to compete for the People’s Choice Award which opens for public voting from 30 November to 7 December 2016 on bmwshorties.com.my.