Spanning over 60 years of Malaysian music, local band Kyoto Protocol had picked to cover 16 songs to celebrate the evolution of Malaysian pop songs via their latest video, “Evolusi Muzik Malaysia | Evolution of Malaysian Music (part 1)”.

“To celebrate #Merdeka59 and Malaysia Day 2016 we take you on a journey through Malaysian pop music, from the 50s up to the modern form that we still love today.” state the band on their Facebook page.

The 9-minute single-take video sees the five piece band’s members; Fuad Alhabshi (vocals and guitar), Gael Oliveres (vocals and keyboard), Hairi Haneefa (guitar), Shakeil Bashir (bass) and Shanjeev Reddy (Drums); standing in front of a projector that plays the music videos of the songs that they are covering.

As the smooth transitions of the songs are commendable, the video also successfully delivers a sense of nostalgia especially through songs like, P. Ramlee’s “Pok Pok Bujang Lapok”, Search’s “Isabella”, Sheila Majid’s “Sinaran”, OAG’s “60s TV” and more.

Of course the medley wouldn’t be complete without the band’s very own song, “Pussycat”, making its entry at the very end of the video.

As the title implies that this is only part one, we sure are hoping that Kyoto Protocol will be releasing a part two next!

Hey, the band might even perform it live when they play at the upcoming Rockaway 2016.

Here is the full list of the songs covered by Kyoto Protocol in the video:

A. Ramlie – Oh Fatima
M. Osman – Suzana
P. Ramlee – Pok Pok Bujang Lapok
Alleycats – Andainya Kau Pergi Dulu
Black Dog Bone – Khayalan
Search – Isabella
Sudirman – Chow Kit Road
Zainal Abidin – Hijau
Sheila Majid – Sinaran
Manbai – Kau Ilhamku
OAG – 60s TV
Butterfingers – Girl Friday
Innuendo – Belaian Jiwa
Hujan – Pagi Yang Gelap
Estrella – Stay
Meet Uncle Hussain – Lagu Untukmu

Kyoto Protocol – Pussycat