zouk party

One of the oldest and most famous nightclubs in Singapore, Zouk, has been nominated at the first ever Electronic Music Awards (EMAF), taking place on 14 April at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles.

Focusing on the world of EDM, the inaugural award has announced the nominees for its categories which include Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Festival of the Year, DJ of the Year and more.

The Singaporean nightclub, which is owned by Genting Hong Kong, will be running for the Club of the Year category, competing against other clubs like Amnesia Ibiza, Fabric London, Omnia Vegas and Sound LA.

The award ceremony features some of the biggest names in the EDM industry including Calvin Harris, The Chainsmokers, Skrillex, Diplo and Major Lazer as well as newcomers Kygo and DJ Snake.

10561581 10153376848616169 731581008553042023 n
Calvin Harris grabs two awards in both single and album of the year.
(Photo source: Calvin Harris’ Facebook)

Oddly enough, Jack Ü, which is made up of Skrillex and Diplo – who just recently won Best Dance Recording and Best Dance/Electronic Album at the 58th Grammy Awards, is not nominated in any of the categories, though they can be found separately in the DJ of the Year category.

Here is the full list of nominees.

Single of the Year
Calvin Harris & Disciples – “How Deep is Your Love”
The Chainsmokers – “Roses” (feat. ROZES)
Galantis – “Runaway” (U & I)
Kygo – “Stole the Show” (feat. Parson James)
Major Lazer & DJ Snake – “Lean On” (feat. MØ)

Album of the Year 
AlinaBaraz & Galimatias – “Urban Flora”
Calvin Harris – “Motion”
Disclosure – “Caracal”

Galantis – “Pharmacy”

Jamie xx – “In Colour”

Radio Show of the Year
“BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix”

“BPM with Geronimo – Sirius XM”

“Danny Howard – BBC Radio 1’s Dance Anthems”
“Diplo and Friends – BBC Radio 1Xtra”

“Jason Bentley – Morning Becomes Eclectic – KCRW”

Festival of the Year
Creamfields – Daresbury, England
Electric Daisy Carnival – Las Vegas, USA
Sonar – Barcelona, Spain

The BPM Festival – Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Ultra Music Festival – Miami, USA

DJ of the Year
Carl Cox
DJ Harvey

Best New Artist
Bob Moses
DJ Snake

Best Club of the Year
Sound LA

(Photo source: Zouk Singapore’s Facebook)