10394071 979998005364477 3928682572642267782 n2B1

The sixth edition of the Singapore Short Film Awards (SSFA) returns this year with the highest number of submissions to date, which is a total of 145 films.

Out of this number, 27 films have been nominated for 11 categories with “Stranger by Night” which is directed by Clare Chong, leading the list with four nominations; Best Fiction Film, Best Director, Best Script, and Best Performance, Singapore Art Gallery Guide reports.

Organised by The Substation Moving Images, the award ceremony will take place at The Substation Theatre on Sunday, 8 March 2015, and only those who are invited can attend the ceremony.

Nevertheless, the public may attend the screenings at The Projector from 2 to 8 March 2015, to catch the submitted and nominated short films for the award.

Details are as follows:-

Weekday screenings start at 7pm
Weekend screenings start at 10am

The Projector, 6001 Beach Road #05-00 Golden Mile Tower, Singapore 199589

Entry by donation

Here are the nominees:

Best Fiction
Bon Voyage
Last Trip Home
Stranger By Night
Chamber of Ox

Best Director
Alvin Lee for Bon Voyage
Grace Chew Hui Min for Destiny
Han Fengyu for Last Trip Home
Clare Chong for Stranger By Night
Tan Wei Keong for Pifuskin

Best Documentary
The Longest-Distance Relationship
Chinese Housemaker
Family Recipe
Jia (English trans: Home)

Best Animation
Cap’n Shmelly

Best Performance
Juliette Yu-Ming / Dancer in Rite of Passage
Lim Poh Huat, Yulia Valerio, Russell Tan, and Ram Rengachari / Stranger By Night
S. Sithira Thevi / Grandma in At Your Doorstep
Zhang Zheng Yang / Son in Last Trip Home
Teo Jun Jie and Lau Xiang Ying / Passenger

Best Script
Chen Yingxuan / Move Out Notice
Clare Chong / Stranger by Night
Kenny Gee / The Body
Shane Lim and Angelica Ho / November
Tan Seong / The Elephant Cannot Fly

Best Editing
Mads K Baekkevold / Chamber of Ox
Lau Xiang Ying / The Longest Distance Relationship
Shelley Chan / Glitch
Ng Xi Jie and Julie Zhu / The Swan of Tuonela

Best Sound
Juliette Yu-Ming and Alexandre Brasil / Rite of Passage
Teo Wei Yong / Cap’n Shmelly
Avery Shen of Home Studio and Jesmen Tan / Bon Voyage
Ben Huff and Veronica Mullins / Nascent
Nick Talbot, Russell Adam Morton, and Mads K. Baekkevold / Chamber of Ox

Best Art Direction
Michelle Cheong and Wendy Chee / At Your Doorstep
Keith Chong / Anchovies
Jerrold Chong and Ilana Kirschbaum / Nascent
Yi-Jun Ian / Graduation

Best Experimental
Rite of Passage
You’re Dead To Me
The Swan of Tuonela

Best Cinematography
Lim Beng Huat / Anchovies
Michael Zaw / At Your Doorstep
Jolinna Ang Sok Kun / Farewell Summer
Tang Hui Huan / Destiny
Seongbin Baek / And The Wind Falls

For more information regarding the event, visit substation.org.