main sz 0606 p23A 3cols1

Digital terrestrial television is digital television broadcast without the use of satellite signals. It is entirely over earthbound circuit. With the new implementation, Malaysia will be expected to have additional 100 to 200 channels by 2016.

According to Communication and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek, Malaysia will implement this service by the year 2016, making Malaysia the first Asean country to have this service.

He also mentioned that if this plan went on smoothly, “Malaysia will be the most advanced among the Asean member countries in this field.”

According to Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek, DTT is based on new technology, it encompasses broad coverage and increases the quality content of the industry to be more advanced.

Furthermore, he added, “We hope to have 100 to 200 channels in the market and we can develop more channels in the future.

What is DTTB
The difference between Digital terrestrial television and Analogue terrestrial television.

Before this, two or three channels were enough because the whole module was based on pure broadcasting but the new model now is more to narrow casting”.

The project that will begin next year will be carried through in four phases, starting with  Kelantan, Terengganu and Pahang for phase one, while phase two will cover Sabah and Sarawak.

Phase three will cover Perlis, Kedah, Penang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Malacca and Johor, and the last phase will cover Selangor, Klang Valley, Putrajaya and all the other urban areas.