Header Ads

Facebook can now reassign your account after death


Facebook is a platform that we use to connect with people, find the latest happenings or update others about our lives. But what will happen to our Facebook after we have passed?

The giant social media site has introduced a new setting called “Legacy Contact” which allows users to assign someone, be it a family member or a friend, to take over their account after they are dead.
Until yesterday, when someone has died, a family or a friend can notify Facebook about that person’s death and Facebook will immediately ‘memorialise’ the account. However, the account can only be viewed by others and cannot be managed or edited.

Many Facebook users have argued over the issue of the ‘memorialised’ Facebook accounts of those who have passed on, as many have requested to be given permission to access the account.

“Until now, when someone passed away, we offered a basic memorialised account which was viewable, but could not be managed by anyone. By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realized there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death,” Facebook announce in its newsroom page.

Facebook new feature let users choose a legacy contact which can be a family member or friend who is given permission to manage the users’ account when they pass away.
With the new feature, when someone dies, the legacy contact will be able to:-
  • Write a post on the memorialised Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests 
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo
In assigning a legacy contact, users can also give their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook.
However, according to the post, “Other settings will remain the same as before the account was memorialised. The legacy contact will not be able to log in as the person who passed away or see that person’s private messages.”

If users refuse to let others manage their Facebook account, they can also let Facebook know if they’d prefer to have their Facebook account permanently deleted after they have died.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.